Colossians 4: Personal Evangelism

How would you define a coincidence? According to the Cambridge Dictionary, a coincidence is: “an occasion when two or more similar things happen at the same time, especially in a way that is unlikely and surprising. Well then, I guess I’ve had my fair share of “coincidences” this weekend (although I’m sure the events are not so much a coincidence as God prompting me to do something).

Although I’m not a regular attendee at Hillsong, I decided to go along with my housemate to their Saturday evening service. The message was about evangelism, and the speaker gave us 3 key points:

  1. Think like a prophet.
  2. Act like an apostle.
  3. Speak like an evangelist.

This Sunday morning at my regular church, the message was ~again~ about evangelism. The pastor reinforced the fact that despite our differing political or social views, it is a mark of the church that we are made up of people who disagree about all kings of things but we agree on one thing – the gospel. We are united by nothing but the gospel.

And, of course, the third and final “coincidence” was this passage – which focuses on evangelism:

And pray for us, too, that God may open a door for our message, so that we may proclaim the mystery of Christ, for which I am in chains. Pray that I may proclaim it clearly, as I should.Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity. Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone. (Colossians 4:3-6) 

Are we making the most of every opportunity? As a matter of fact, a good friend of mine recently reached out to me, expressing an interest to come to church. She even made it there today!  The first part had already been done for me – all I have to do now is continue praying and asking the Holy Spirit to guide me, so that our conversations may be rich and stimulating in Christian content, and that I might know how to best answer her questions.

Of course, sometimes it seems like that is easier said than done. Lots of nagging doubts fill my head – what if she feels threatened by my evangelising? What if I am acting like a hypocrite? What if this disrupts the dynamic of our friendship? What if I’m teaching her the wrong thing? And what about those answers she doesn’t want to hear (who wants to be told that non-believers are going to hell?!)

Well, our Pastor reinforced that we should speak the truth, and nothing but the truth. Christianity is not a sugar-coated faith, why should I sugar-coat things? Of course, this does not translate into being overly brash in my evangelising, but I need God’s wisdom and knowledge to know when best to speak, and how to express myself. I hope I answer his call.

Leave a Reply

