Romans 7-8

Chapter 7

So, my brothers and sisters, you also died to the law through the body of Christ, that you might belong to another, to him who was raised from the dead, in order that we might bear fruit for God. – Romans 7:4

 

Romans Chapter 7 largely reminds us that we are released from the law, but bound to Christ. There are many possible interpretations to what is alluded to by the umbrella term ‘law,’ but I believe that this refers to the old, traditional sense of law in the bible times (particularly the Old Testament), in which people had to burn sacrifices and offerings to beg God for forgiveness. To me, after Jesus’ arrival and his ultimate sacrifice of being crucified on the cross as a martyr for our transgressions, the law has changed in that God is much more accessible than he was before. We no longer need to offer sacrifices in order to communicate with God, instead we must simply pray and have faith that we may bear fruit for God. This is of huge significance because it metaphorically and visually demonstrates how Jesus is the bridge between mankind and God. 

 

Chapter 8

5 Those who live according to the flesh have their minds set on what the flesh desires;but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires. 6 The mind governed by the flesh is death, but the mind governed by the Spirit is life and peace. – Romans 8:5-6

The term ‘flesh’ here embodies all that is unrighteous and closely related to human nature: dishonesty, impatience, sexual immorality, slander, and malice. In the modern day this translates to everything ungodly that we humans find pleasing and tempting. Today I am importantly reminded that investing time, effort and oneself in such things will lead to death, and that I must instead invest myself in the ‘Spirit (that is) life and peace.’ How can I do so? By communicating with God more often and engaging in prayer, whether it be by myself or in a fellowship group. Moreover, I should set spiritual goals, so that I might track my progress and ensure that I am trying, to the best of my abilities, to live according to the flesh. I am far from perfect and there’s still a long way to go, but I am thankful that this reading has reminded me of the importance to let the Spirit refresh and renew us everyday. 

-S. ❤ 

Leave a Reply

